Just 30 minutes please

Between my son and my daughter I am running laps up and down the stairs. Wait, lemme do one more….Ok I’m back. Neither one of them wants to nap. And that’s all I’d like to be doing on these dusky rainy afternoons. Yesterday it was Josiah fighting hard with manipulating requests for the potty, and his dad, and books, and milk. whatever he could think of. He was obviously tired nothing else throws him into hysterics like fatigue. I know naps are winding down for him. He used to sleep 3 hours every afternoon, now it’s more like an hour and a half. I know, I know, some of you moms are like “Count your blessings!” I am and now I realize I’m spoiled.
My beautiful daughter does not sleep anywhere near as much as her brother used to. I used to have a 2 hour nap in the morning and afternoon for Jos. Following this pattern, I thought “Eden will sleep one hour in the morning and 3 in the afternoon” No. Try 1 hour in the morning and 1 hour or sometimes 45 minutes in the afternoon. I hope it’s teething, although I see no physical signs of discomfort from her. She wakes up screaming and screaming. This to me means that she is: hungry, or poopie, in pain, or still tired. I have tried to solve 2 of those problems, we’ll see how long it takes, I’ll fight until 4:30. I haven’t really broken her yet. Probably cuz I sleep so little anyway.
I just want 30 minutes. So I can sit the frick down. So I can eat lunch before 4 pm. Joel and I really need a date night. Having no family closer than an hour away makes it hard. All our friends have little kids too, I never feel right about dumping 2 more on them. I refuse to pay for babysitting. Maybe that’s cheap, but unless I can pay with food, laundry facilities, or internet access, cash is too precious. It makes that $30 meal turn into $50 or $60.
Woe is me, woe is me. I’ll stop now.

One thought on “Just 30 minutes please

  1. I feel your pain on the nap thing.
    I look forward to monthly vaccination days, because he always has a nice long afternoon nap then. Aaah like today. A whole three hours.

Comments are closed.