Valentine for me




Valentine for me

Originally uploaded by katiek2.

After receiving Dolores in the mail for Eden, I realized that making a “stuffie” couldn’t be that hard. I still am afraid of my sewing machine, but I’m working up the courage. See I know if I get it out I will never want to put it away. I had cut these hands out of felt and thought I would make Christmas ornaments on our trip to St Louis. But Christmas has come and gone and I wanted to preserve my kids hands for this year. I made a great Christmas present for Lola Nancy and Grandpa Dale in Manilla using the little hands and I just got sentimental. So here’s my valentine. Something to put out every year to remind me how little those hands first were.

6 thoughts on “Valentine for me

  1. I love it!! (nice flik pic) I may have to steal your idea lock, stock, and barrel. I love my boy’s hands.
    I know what you mean about the sewing machine. I approach it with the leary eye, willing for creativity to ooze from it but daunted by such contraptions as…bobbins. *horror*

  2. I just got a sewing machine for Christmas and I have only used it once so far (to fix a tear in the dog’s pillow). I really want to know how to use it ot make (hopefully) beatiful things for our house. I am a little intimidated by the machine though and I don’t know where to start. I love the Valentine decorations!

  3. I love this idea, I will also have to steal your idea.
    I also having a sewing machine, that scares me. I think once I learn it would be easy for me to use but who is going to teach me? oh well, it’s been about 3 years since I bought it, I just say that everyone needs a sewing machine in the house, it’s like having a ummm….a french fry cutter machine thingy.

  4. Yeah Alicia, you might have to just mush his hand down and trace what you can than fudge the rest. I guess that’s where my “art training” helps.

  5. I find a nicely sized staple gun does the trick in holding Gid and Ike’s fingers still for a while (course the rest of them tends to writhe around quite a bit).

Comments are closed.