Back to Oils

art 074.jpg
My first painting back to oils in a couple years. Actually since Norway. It feels good under my brush. This is for the Blur show at Pangea. And I feel it’s more than halfway done.
art 072.jpg
I pretty much just started this one, but it’s also for the Blur show. It’s got a different movement to it, but both of these images are from metro stations. So I guess they will be Metro I and II.
Been listening too Sarah Groves “Add to the Beauty”. Pretty much on a constant loop while painting. When my dad gives me a CD to listen to that he thinks I’ll like he’s pretty much right. I recommend this CD for anyone who loves lyrics, loves to sing at the top of your voice along with your music, and wants to find fresh, non-cheesy music that celebrates Our Creator God. This album is all about the Kingdom. “Taking our Church to the Moon” is a sad and funny song about the church of today and not the Real Church. Please enjoy. I will warn you, it is a woman singing, so it could be girly for some of you macho dudes who miss your Metallica. Inspiring though, and brought me back to a place I needed to be to worship and paint simultaneously.
Just Showed Up for My Own Life
I’m going to live my life inspired
Look for the holy in the common place
Open the windows and feel all that’s honest and real until I’m truly amazed
I’m going to feel all my emotions
I’m going to look you in the eyes
I’m going to listen and hear until it’s finally clear and it changes our lives

And last but not least, congrats to my friend Jennifer Kring (on the right, Lynn will be a few more days) who had her little girl on Tuesday night. Welcome Lavender!
december 043.jpg

4 thoughts on “Back to Oils

Comments are closed.