Back to the Checklist

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }
.flickr-yourcomment { }
.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }
.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }



Eden’s treasure, originally uploaded by katiek2.

After one week of vacation and another week of recooping and hosting guests Joel and I are back to the list. The To-Do’s if you will. And with the List comes the overwhelming grey heaviness that surrounds it. The ‘oh-no’s’, the ‘what-if’s’, the ‘how much’s’ are what make life hard right now. We just pray and pray that God will bring wisdom and patience and joy. Joy seems to be hard to hold onto when you are in a nomadic mind. All of a sudden you don’t belong where you are and you can’t get to where you need to be. And in between is confusion and lonliness.

We had a sweet visit with Joel’s family on the way back from vacation. My parents swung by after flying in from NJ on Monday and bought us a yummy Mexican dinner. Thursday and Friday I had the pleasure of the greatest bunch of company. Cat, Jen and Erin came to remind me that I am still part of club. Still part of a sister-hood. That I might feel lonely, but I’m not alone. I wish it was more than once a year. But I have a feeling there will be more reunions.

I was hoping to get into this artist market in Inman Park. We drove around looking for it. It was supposed to be next to a Jake’s Ice Cream, but everything around that address looked half finished, and absolutely no sign of an artist’s festival. I’m glad I didn’t try to get down there for set up at 9am! There was a sign though, so maybe I’ll email the dudes from Jakes again and see if they’re for real, again.

My children are such a blessing. I just wanted to write that down for all to read. They are beautiful, fun, they make me laugh and cry. They love me too. These years when they are so young and need me so much, they are something that I believe I will miss. At the same time, I look forward to seeing them grow up and need me less so I can do things like go back to Europe with Joel, without the kids. They make me proud and I am so grateful that I have them.

3 thoughts on “Back to the Checklist

  1. “Joy seems to be hard to hold onto when you are in a nomadic mind. All of a sudden you don’t belong where you are and you can’t get to where you need to be. And in between is confusion and lonliness.”
    I completely understand this statement. I have been there many times, for long period of times.

  2. “Joy seems to be hard to hold onto when you are in a nomadic mind. All of a sudden you don’t belong where you are and you can’t get to where you need to be. And in between is confusion and lonliness.”
    I completely understand this statement. I have been there many times, for long period of times.

  3. jen kring

    kate, i love this post. such sweet words about friendship, kids and such…love you.
    glad you posted that pic of eden girl… love it!
    also, what kinda paint do you use when you’re making a freezer papa stencil?? let me know.
    lata

Comments are closed.