Meme-O-Mania

Ugh, I’ve been ignoring meme invites for too long. Sarah has a great book one, but I never read! I can use that with great honesty, I never read. Well, nothing without pictures these days. Even the Bible I read daily has pictures (thanks Sarah!) Andrea has a fun one too. But this one I thought I could do, but man, it’s taken alot of effort!!
1) What is a movie that changed the way you think and act? Or just got you thinking, if the first question is too intimidating.The Fisher King. I was 15 and was introduced to it by a wierd boyfriend. Besides Robin Williams being extremely funny and perfect for the role of Parry, the movie is full of literary illusions, symbols and hilarious character development. It was in NYC which made it magical all by itself. It influenced me by reminding me that I loved the strange and ecletic in people. That I believe being smart makes you cool. It reminded me that literature and art very much intertwines with your everyday.
2) It’s a late autumn evening and rainy and cold, What do you have for dinner/snack? What movie do you pop in the DVD player?
Old school popped on the stove popcorn. Big Lebowski (if the kids are asleep) can’t you just dig that Bob Dylan song right now? Nemo (if kids are awake, and only then).
3) You are off to wee Himalayan hamlet for a year, your laptop hard drive can hold one film. What will it be?
Yeah, I’d hafta agree with Kirk, Lord of the Rings. Mostly because I was in a wee Scandinavian wintery place when I read all three books and saw the 1st film, so it’s kinda hard to remove that. I would describe how awesome it was to have such appropriate visuals during that time but that’s too much of an ear-full right now. But if it were the Himilayans maybe Crouching Tiger would be more culturally relevant. I mean it is pretty beautiful.
rushmore.bmp
4) What movie made you laugh the hardest? What movie made you cry?
Rushmore, Bill Murray is a riot. Big Lebowski again, the ferret in the tub, ohhhh I laughed so hard, the poor folks that went with me. I think Andy M was one, he just kinda got a nervous laugh goin’ when I couldn’t stop uncontrollably laughing. Mr. Deeds, oh my goodness John Turturro! Meet the Parents, oh yes.
Life is Beautiful made me cry, so did Dancer in the Dark, Finding Neverland totally surprised the H out of me, I bawled.
watts.bmp
5) Favorite actor (female, male)?
I like Scarlet Johanssen, Julia Roberts, Mary Stuart Masterson, Julianne Moore, just to name a few.
I like John Cusack, Robert Deniro, Orlando Bloom (yummy), Owen Wilson, and yeah, Johnny Depp. just a few.
6) What book or story would you like to see made into a film or what book do you love that could never be made into a film?
Well I haven’t read that many books, but I can imagine that My Name is Asher Lev would get butchered on film.
7) What is a movie that immediately after you watched it, you wish you hadn’t? Kids, High Art, Seven, Candyman, Horseman on the Roof.
8) Do you read movie reviews? Before, after, never? Whose reviews do you find the best? Are you an analyzer?I don’t read reviews but Joel does, so we end up seeing what he wants to see most. But I take a lot from trailors and I try to keep up with what directors like are doing.
baraka.bmp
9) What movie do you think is a must see, but that you can only recommend with caveats? What movie do you really like, but can only recommend with caveats?First of all I had to look up what “caveats” was. Kirk, you NMS!! Well, the most recent occurance of me recommending a movie that was terribly rebuffed was with Joel’s cousin. I recommended V is for Vendetta.I mean the Wachowski Bros?! I thought it was a good movie, interesting and all but NOT for her. She likes musicals. oops. True Stories I mean, this movie is classic and funny. The music is really cool and nerdy at the same time, but not for Joe Moviegoer. It truly is a cult classic. Baraka is a full length documentary that is beautiful!!! But this is no Friday night movie. There is no dialogue, just soundtrack. I have witnessed many fall asleep during this film, it is quite mesmorizing. It will make you want to travel the moment it ends.
10) What movie do you most wish to share with your friends? Well, most of my friends have seen the movies I have already, but a few that would fall into that catagory would be: Pollock, Curious George, Murderball, Diary of a Mad Black Woman.

