Shared with no one

eden and apron.jpg
As my kids get older, I have found that a day at the house when there are things to do for the house just gets crazy and Joel and I end up mad at each other and the kids are bored, with a capital B. I can usually get a smidge done every day while the kids are napping. It’s really only an hour and a half, but I got all the lattice painted for our new screened porch which will get started on on Monday. Joel needs bigger chunks of time to do bigger projects so I’ll take the kids out on Saturday so Joel can work. Last week we went to the opening of the Dozier Centre in Kennesaw. Super fun musical instruments and clogging and free BBQ and a monsterous tiger to jump in. Great times but I went by myself. Me and the kids.
Today we went to Grant Parks Summer Shade Festival. Really neat. Lots of kids activities, free crafts, and music. Expensive food, but great music and a professional story teller! The art was better than expected too. Josiah and Eden had such a good time. But again, we went by ourselves. Me and the kids.
Joel has found a few folks on Myspace that were close friends in highschool and he has been reeling in delight emailing them and breaking into spontaneous laughter here and there reading the messages. He found Christian, amazing. Joel used his second set of Father’s Day Six Flags tickets to go with his friend Christopher for the day. I detest Six Flags, so he’s going with buddies. I’m happy for him, it’s good for him to get a social boost!!
faithfully painting.jpg
I am weary, weary of Atlanta. I love the special moments I have with my kids. I love having a big city to explore with all it’s many attractions and opportunities. But I’m lonely. I’m tired of driving 30 minutes to see my friends. The great Exodus has taken place, and we are looking at fewer and fewer friendships. I don’t like that Joel and I have one date a month! A month! And the last sitter, although she rocked, was expensive!
This post was a lot longer. Full of whining and poor thoughts. But I will stop. I know that I need to have adult interaction and I just haven’t had enough this month. It will change.
Thanks for bearing with me.
art table1.jpg

7 thoughts on “Shared with no one

  1. Laurie

    Katie –
    Move back to Chattanooga and we can set up a circle of play dates/sitters. I’d be happy to spend time with your two so you guys could have a night of fun in exchange for the same. I know you have more friends in this town than I can imagine (I, myself, am no good at establishing friendships with women… not their fault, my own nervousness / tongue-tiedness) but maybe they aren’t in the same situation. I can also identify with the reality of little time with the spouse and will by happy to work with you to find a solution.

  2. strictly speaking there are not enough answers in our lives to answer and resolve all that is afloat. i’m fully aware of how isolated i have become on account of the exodus from chatt several years ago made by all my friends. there isn’t anyone to blame and of course of course i am thankful that jen is back and that you and joel are planning to be back, even if for a short time. it is a neverending battle of shifting focus that drives me as well as hope that god’s plan is at work. it is not as though he has a plan and is just waiting to fulfill it in me, it is actually happening as we risk everything everyday to step out in faith. you kate are an incredible mother, you kate are an incredible friend. and laurie is right on! there are a million friends who can help you and joel here! and i know that your gifts are going to be used 200 million-fold! DON’T GIVE UP! I LOVE YOU!

  3. jen kring

    Good Work on the house, Kate! Glad to hear that it is one or two steps further along in releasing you guys to us. I know it’s hard being the sole parent watching kids on your own day after day. I’m sure Joelie is missin you guys so much too. It will be so nice when everything settles down and you guys won’t feel like you’re on your own. We’re here for ya… can’t wait till you guys get here. lov ya!

  4. My friends live an hour away, and I am so lonely as well. I am so glad that you posted this because I have been trying to convince myself that an hour isn’t that far, and blaming myself for so many dwindling friendships that after reading your post, I know that it isn’t me, it really is that far. I miss having spontanious relationships, and friends over to just hang out, who does that when they have to drive an hour?
    I hope you find a home close enough, maybe I will be inspired to do the same.

  5. My friends live an hour away, and I am so lonely as well. I am so glad that you posted this because I have been trying to convince myself that an hour isn’t that far, and blaming myself for so many dwindling friendships that after reading your post, I know that it isn’t me, it really is that far. I miss having spontanious relationships, and friends over to just hang out, who does that when they have to drive an hour?
    I hope you find a home close enough, maybe I will be inspired to do the same.

  6. katie, i get all drooly and jealous every time i read yer blog, you look like you have the perfect stay-at-home mom time with your kids… i wish i had a real house instead of a squishy little shoebox, i wish i could stay home with my kid instead of going to work every day, i wish i had the eye for beautiful photos that you do, and i wish i didn’t have to walk up 4 fricken flights of stairs every time i come home. 🙂 i guess i’m supposed be grateful for what i have, but hey. we all have some things we’d like to change about our lives, eh? lemme just tell you, there’s a mom in nyc who’s jealous of your life. mucho love,
    the-grass-that-wishes-it-was-greener-in-nyc

  7. We miss you. You know I understand the “staying out of the husband’s way” single-parenthood. It’s lonely even w/lots of friends nearby, much less without. I’m praying for you right now.
    Oh, and a short move to Boise would get you an unbeatable membership in the Perkins Babysitting Co-op. . .

Comments are closed.