Journey

dec06 002.jpg
There is something wonderful about the cold that blesses me every time it decides to visit. It effects my mood and you would think it would be bad, but instead it brings memories. I guess it gets cold here so rarely that this season is not just about Christmas. I think of old friends and old haunts. I think of the many different coats and hats I used to wear. My tried and true JCrew hat is lost and I have no idea what I am going to do with highs in the low 40’s so close to Christmas. So I have been creating a Wists list and found some sweet little coats that I would like. But if anyone out there has a recommendation of a great jacket let me know!
I’ve been in a fog of pessimism lately and I haven’t wanted to spill it all out on my blog. I haven’t been much of a team player. I got no Christmas projects to share, although I am going to bow to her majesty craft/business goddess Hillary and try some stichettes. Of course the tree will go up on Monday. Maybe I can embroider that fast. Joel is a wonderful man, and he never lets these foggy places take over me. He listens and then reminds me that what we want, we we have, these things are given by God and we need to be joyful about it. After a day of buying back text books from Lee U students, I drove to Live Urban to get more papers signed and get a form to start picking out things like our counter tops and cabinets, what color hard woods etc. I am so not ready to pick that stuff out. I need people to help me!
dec06 027.jpg
This is what I did today. Jess is much more resourceful than I. She took my kids to the TN Aquarium on Tuesday and down to Jen’s for Christmas cookie madness on Thursday. I took the three to the Library today and if my mom hadn’t gone with me we woulda lost one I’m sure. Josiah and Lu Lu get along very well, but they are getting very used to each other and starting to fight like brother and sister. It’s a sweet deal to have a trade so nicely, but it is hard work to entertain, contain, nourish and stimulate three little ones. I’m pooped.
dec06 024.jpg
I look forward to the near future where I will not be working hours that my children need me and instead I will be tutoring kids in art. Art lessons, can it work? Can I actually make money? God’ll do it.

5 thoughts on “Journey

  1. Linda

    Hey speaking of coats, I have been trying to figure out who’s black vest got left from the party and realized it has your name right on it. Sorry about that , I’ll bring tonight. This coldness has been pretty invigorating, I love that sky pic. See you tonight.

  2. Linda

    Hey speaking of coats, I have been trying to figure out who’s black vest got left from the party and realized it has your name right on it. Sorry about that , I’ll bring tonight. This coldness has been pretty invigorating, I love that sky pic. See you tonight.

  3. It must be this year. So many of my artsy friends are in a funk this holiday season and all for different reasons. Me too.
    BTW- I love the BP black toggle jacket. Faboo.

  4. My friend Ashley and I are looking into the art classes offered at the Hunter Museum. Not sure if they are looking for teachers for that program…maybe something you could do. Anyhow, if that doesn’t work out for us to take a class there, we’ll be looking around…if you are doing private lessons we might be interested!!

Comments are closed.