Four

feb07 036.jpg
Today Josiah turns four years old. What a wonderful 4 years it hs been. Josiah becomes more of my friend everyday. But boy whatta boy! When I found out I was pregnant with Josiah we were in Norway. We were ending our 9 month stint at a Bible school. I found out that my friends Fran and Karen were both pregnant with their first and I felt empty. I wanted to be a mom at that point right there. I prayed that God would make me willing to let down my guard and become pregnant. Well, low and behold I left my birth control at home during a month long trip away from Bergen and that was that.
feb07 041.jpg
We came home from Norway and after a sweet time at Cornerstone Fest, we stayed with Joel’s parents working toward a life in Atlanta. And for about 6 months we stayed there and I grew very large. I became very worried that I would be putting my baby boy in a dresser drawer at my in-laws house. After bending very low Joel waited tables for a bit until he found a temp job that became permanent almost instantly. In a two week period our biggest stresses were taken care of and we were ready to have our baby boy.
feb07 054.jpg
Josiah was due on SuperBowl Sunday. And instead of having a baby I went to a SuperBowl party in XL maternity pants. Eight days after my due date Josiah decided to come. My water broke at 1am and we drove from Marietta to south Atlanta, about 30 minutes at 2am. I was 4cm when we got there and my midwife was impressed that I didn’t want medication. I remember being very tired. The pain came when I had to change out of my clothes and into a gown. Joel and I labored together through the night and I spent too much time on the labor ball. I made it all the way through transition without drugs. The shower helped. But the hard part was getting him out.
feb07 066.jpg
I started pushing at 9am. My mom and Cat were there with us. I pushed for 2 hours and Josiah seemed stuck on my pubic bone. I was convinced to have an epidural and rest. It was great. I slept for a couple hours. Then we prepared to turn off the drugs and go again. I pushed for another two hours. The doctor was called in because my midwife really wanted me to avoid a C-section. We decided to use the vacuum and started to push again. It took 3 times with the vacuum I think. It hurt real bad. Then my boy was born. My 9lb 12oz boy. How did he get that big?? He was 22 1/2 inches long. No wonder he was stuck.
feb07 071.jpg
Although Josiah was so large he decided he didn’t want to eat very well. He dropped to 8lbs 8oz by the time we left the hospital. I was a wreck. It was hard to heal, I was so torn and bruised and weak. And my baby wouldn’t gain weight! But although I was so worried, no one at my father-in-laws pediatric office was worried. Because Josiah was doing all the things a healthy boy would do he was just skinny-skinny. At 6 months old he was only 13lbs 6oz. And then, with doctor’s orders, we stuffed him with food and he wasn’t too skinny anymore. He’s pretty normal, except when he gets the stomach flu. He’s looking kinda boney this week. I weighed him yesterday and he’s 40lbs. I measured him and he’s 43 1/2 inches tall. Whatta boy. It’s good to remember and maybe some of you out there will be encouraged by our four year old story. I’m so thankful for my son. He’s helped me grow into a much better woman.

7 thoughts on “Four

  1. I love your story. It’s good to hear these things from people who have been there for awhile. I can’t believe you pushed that long Katie – Wow. I can’t remember if I wrote about it on my blog but they had to use vacuum and forceps on Jack and I was minutes away from a C-section (working hard to avoid it). They told me that a larger baby would not fit over my pubic bone but apparently my body got more ready the second time around cause Ian was larger, longer, had a larger head and no problem. Jack might have chubby cheeks but he’s very small. Ian will catch up to his size, I’m guessing, in 3 to 4 months – their thighs are the same size. I hope Josiah’s feeling much, much better today. Happy Birthday to your sweet boy!

  2. I thought about y’all a lot the 2nd. Funny how it tore me up not to be there. With the move I never know what’s gonna hit me that way. I thought about that skinny little baby Josiah, how his sandals seemed so huge at the end of his long legs and how much shorter and chubbier our new Gid looked next to him. I remember so many little incidentals about those first several months of parenthood together (remember how Josiah somehow got glass ornament in his mouth when y’all were moving out of the apartment even though you’d kept him in the playpen the whole time?). It meant so much to be near you those few years and I miss y’all so much! Happy birthday, Jos!

  3. Happy belated birthday to Josiah! Sorry we couldn’t be there with you guys to celebrate. I would love to get you guys over for a play time whenever it’s good for you. Our boys live too close to each other to be strangers. Even if you just want to drop him off sometime… whatever works.

  4. Hi. Jeannette pointed me to your blog. What beautiful artwork! It’s good to know that I *might* be able to squeeze in some time to continue painting once our son is born… (it was nice to read your birth story, too–they never go as planned, I’ve heard, but always end up wonderfully because you have a new baby to love!)
    Question– you mentioned your father-in-law’s pediatrics practice. I live in the ATL area and though I’ve got a possible ped, I’m looking for recommendations. Could you e-mail me his name/address? Thanks! allisonredd (at) gmail (dot) com

  5. Hi. Jeannette pointed me to your blog. What beautiful artwork! It’s good to know that I *might* be able to squeeze in some time to continue painting once our son is born… (it was nice to read your birth story, too–they never go as planned, I’ve heard, but always end up wonderfully because you have a new baby to love!)
    Question– you mentioned your father-in-law’s pediatrics practice. I live in the ATL area and though I’ve got a possible ped, I’m looking for recommendations. Could you e-mail me his name/address? Thanks! allisonredd (at) gmail (dot) com

Comments are closed.