Glutten for punishment

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }
.flickr-yourcomment { }
.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }
.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }



New Bunnies in progress, originally uploaded by katiek2.

Just when I told myself I wasn’t going to paint a larger painting right before I move I have. I just can’t shove these little beauties onto a small canvas! This means that in order to discipline myself to finish this one I’m going to hafta listen to my favorite cable shows instead of watch them. If I had some great new music maybe I could just kick back with TV off and listen to new tunes, but alas our Napster subscription ran out. The fancy Zen Joel got for Christmas collects dust since we have not a cent to dedicate to the music. Where is the love, huh? Anyway, I have no idea what the next weeks will bring besides the exit of the old and the bringing in of the new. The Cooleys made it into their new place last weekend and I’m already planning the get togethers and kid swapping. When I am in my new place I will not be scouting out a studio spce right away, oh no! Not this mama. I have very little time to spend away from the homefront. I need to be able to put pasta on and throw paint around at the same time. So my dining room table (that we scored for $10) is a little bit marred from artist abuse rather than just faux distressing. That’s alright by me. As much as I love nice things, they just won’t stay nice very long in my house. The grass will grow back.
When I’m sitting at my spotchy dining table, easel parked next to it, I will be able to paint, make dinner, converse with husband and children, and watch the construction guys finish Phase 3 of Jefferson Heights.
For this prequel to the busy life, I will depict Brownie and Cookie again, with great joy. Their friendly gaze will bring me delight since there is no weight to their watching, just gladness in creation. Creatures that hide some sort of mystery that God whispers to us through fuzzy paws, floppy ears and marble smooth eyes. Stay tuned.

7 thoughts on “Glutten for punishment

  1. i am so excited about you guys moving in soon! we are loving our new house but feeling a bit isolated and lonely…not that we have had all that much time to feel anything other than tired. the neighborhood just needs more moms and kids in my opinion. oh, and i heard last night that the new playgroud has been purchased and should be up in a couple of months. exciting!

  2. bunnies! it seems like you’ve got the glazing skill. i was never successful at it – says my old painting prof. i love bunnies and sheep. maybe i will buy a sheep painting if you make one.

  3. bunnies! it seems like you’ve got the glazing skill. i was never successful at it – says my old painting prof. i love bunnies and sheep. maybe i will buy a sheep painting if you make one.

Comments are closed.