Summer beckons

june 07 076.jpg
Like a foreigner in a far off land I enter the woods and explore with my children. I have to say, it is not natural for me to want to go into nature and just jaunt around. Especially when I find a tick on me in the middle of my urban jungle neighborhood! But the wonder that my children have for every stick, gap in a fence, buzzing beetle and bird makes me want to remember what treasures these little nature walks have.
june 07 088.jpg
Joel wanted a Chattanooga Nature Center membership for the canoeing and we haven’t gotten around to doing that yet, but we have gone for walks and gone to see the animals. The treehouse was wonderful and I really think I could sit inside that little place and reflect for a while.
june 07 091.jpg
I thought Josiah might be closer to the cut-off for no more carseat. But alas, only 3 1/2 feet.

7 thoughts on “Summer beckons

  1. you may be able to rid of the carseat very soon depending on his growth, but isn’t TN law that a child must be in a child’s seat up until that child is 8 years old? like i know? huh? just thought i’d mention it.

  2. Poor Gid’s still a good 10-15 lbs away from graduating to a booster seat! Poor boy’s probably going to still be in the three point harness until he hits the Idaho cut-off age of six. Ages four to six get to graduate to a booster seat when they’ve outgrown reg car seats! We have let him use a booster the last few days, though, while one of the car seats underwent de-vomitation cleaning.

  3. A membership to the nature center is such a great idea. I just loved taking the kids on little hikes when we went camping, that would be the perfect place to continue our “toddler hikes” together.
    I have to tell you about my dream last night. I dreamt that this little bright blue finch with a rainbow colored stomach kept getting into our bedroom. He somehow would wiggle his way under the screen in the window and fly around. I’d get startled and ask for Bob to catch him and put him back out. Then one time he wiggled his way in again and landed perched atop your painting of that little blue bird. I guess in my dream I’d bought that little cutie and this bird decided to go sit on top of him and say hi. I thought this was so cool that I took a picture of it to show you later. What a weird dream huh? Maybe it means I’m supposed to buy a little birdie from you someday. 🙂
    btw…things have been crazy here…but eventually I’d still like to do some sewing for you to swap for cute art stuff for Alice’s room.

  4. A membership to the nature center is such a great idea. I just loved taking the kids on little hikes when we went camping, that would be the perfect place to continue our “toddler hikes” together.
    I have to tell you about my dream last night. I dreamt that this little bright blue finch with a rainbow colored stomach kept getting into our bedroom. He somehow would wiggle his way under the screen in the window and fly around. I’d get startled and ask for Bob to catch him and put him back out. Then one time he wiggled his way in again and landed perched atop your painting of that little blue bird. I guess in my dream I’d bought that little cutie and this bird decided to go sit on top of him and say hi. I thought this was so cool that I took a picture of it to show you later. What a weird dream huh? Maybe it means I’m supposed to buy a little birdie from you someday. 🙂
    btw…things have been crazy here…but eventually I’d still like to do some sewing for you to swap for cute art stuff for Alice’s room.

  5. Ooh- looks like Jos will be in a booster until he hits five feet tall or eight yrs old, whichever comes first. With the six-year old cut off in ID and five ft/eight yr cut off in TN Gid may actually get out of his seat around the same time as Josiah!

Comments are closed.