Internal Affair

june 07 172.jpg
I feel I need to give you a little sneak peek into my afternoon. I don’t have anything of great news to report. Still working on being a teacher in the fall, new art for the Clothesline (although it seems my greatest artwork will be the frappin’ card! phew), a neighborly neighbor, and a nurturer of my children.
june 07 174.jpg
I guess I have been a little stuck on how fast time has flown by lately. Now, those of you in my same phase of life will testify that some days seem to never end. And some weeks (especially those filled with sickness) seem to be a lifetime. But I can’t believe that half of 2007 is over already. Our lives really are like grass. When I look across the soccer field to the dark grey storm clouds, and witness my baby boy become more man-like everyday, I am swept away with wonder. I am reminded that I belong to a greater purpose. My life is so small, and where can I make a difference in the huge world, and even huger Kingdom. Those thoughts fill me with a fear that causes me to want to absorb my little things and appreciate how lovely they are. Maybe that’s why I am painting critters, children, flowers. I mean, I could be writing my artist statement/testimony over and over again.
june 07 176.jpg
And so with that, I give you Brownie and Cookie in the Summer Garden. I think it’s done, but wow, is there a lot going on! Am I losing my mind?? I just can’t bring myself to tone this one down. I’m a little trigger happy with the colors aren’t I? I won’t apologize anymore for it, click on it, adjust the brightness and bask in the rays of this neon growth.
We’re having a meeting for the Jefferson Heights Park at 5pm at the Neighborhood House (16th block of Jefferson) tommorow. Anyone who lives around us come on down and let’s discuss the future of our park. And after we’re having some neighbors over for dinner, a new couple that just moved in and the Bakers who have been around for a while. It’ll be fun! Our ‘hood is special and I love being home in the afternoon to witness all the comings and goings, as fast as the days go by.

3 thoughts on “Internal Affair

  1. Emma Sell

    Katie, Hi, it’s your cousin. I’ve been “lurking” for a while and just wanted to tell you that I love you blog and completely understand what you talk about on the mothering front. My two “babies” are five and almost three and I look at them and don’t know where the time went. Keep up the good work, you’ve been a real encouragement to me.

  2. Emma Sell

    Katie, Hi, it’s your cousin. I’ve been “lurking” for a while and just wanted to tell you that I love you blog and completely understand what you talk about on the mothering front. My two “babies” are five and almost three and I look at them and don’t know where the time went. Keep up the good work, you’ve been a real encouragement to me.

  3. i know i know…i find myself wishing that sam&liam would grow quickly into talking-interacting little boys, but wishing they’d stay babies forever or that caleb would quickly arrive and we could begin a relationship with him but knowing it is all going to happen so fast. i delight with you in the growth of your children, your home, your neighborhood. god is amazingly overwhelming. he even shows up in your neon bunny painting-in the clothesline postcard and all, so beautiful.

Comments are closed.