Vulnerability

july 07 081.jpg
Well, I am pretty sensitive about this one, but I am willing to share it’s progress. Ever so often there is a piece I’m working on that I struggle with so much technically that I have to pray to Jesus to help me get it right. I mean he gave me the skill to begin with, I need His help to work through every bit. I admit I”ve gotten lazy with this one. I started off with gusto and had a purpose and then got so distracted and this piece was the false start piece to a whole theme I had in my brain then. Now, I have a new theme in mind, but this piece is very important to me. I love the text of the song my dad wrote about adoption, and as much as I dread it, I’m going to have to cut out more stencils to finish this piece. I need to do less doodling in the negative space and put more text in. Because folks, adoption needs to be depicted poetically in verse and in imagery. So if you must critique I can’t stop you because I’m posting this photo on the blasted www, but know that whatever you think about it, I”ve probably thought about 20x already. So soak in what you like and look past the unfinished-ness, I’m still chomping my nails on this one. It’s like hard to concentrate sometimes thinking about how I will problem solve this one. I had a hard time in church last night, I was flustered about this piece of art, go figure.
The things I do like:
1. Eliana, I love how that worked out, it’s nice
2. The hammock that arches from left to right, yeah its a hammock
3. The stenciled letters
4. some of the florals
The things that need work:
1. The blue Sara needs to have her lower body represented, somehow
2. Some color somewhere needs to be toned down
3. I need to put more text possibly across the blue Sara
4. I need to single out the snapshot portrait without being overly crisp.

7 thoughts on “Vulnerability

  1. Linda

    Keep up the good work Katie, such a great and important theme. I think your right Eliana looks great!

  2. I’m going from silent reader to commentor status just to say that I love this painting and, according to the other pieces you’ve created, I think you’ll complete this one beautifully. I became a mother through adoption — this painting touches my heart. Thanks for sharing it with the www. : )

  3. i think you’re being too hard on yourself on this one (we are all harder on own work though, right?). i think it’s a great piece.

  4. I love Eliana’s eyes. I agree with you the snapshot should stand out a little more – some sort of subtle framing? I kinda picture lots of little text across blue Sara body with some pulling Eliana and blue Sara together.. I’m not so sure I agree some of the color should be toned down. I like this a lot, esp E’s skin tones.

  5. I love Eliana’s eyes. I agree with you the snapshot should stand out a little more – some sort of subtle framing? I kinda picture lots of little text across blue Sara body with some pulling Eliana and blue Sara together.. I’m not so sure I agree some of the color should be toned down. I like this a lot, esp E’s skin tones.

  6. good work, kate… I think you’re instincts regarding what direction to go with this piece are right on…trust em…
    More stenciling on sara would be lovely and i had an idea about the snapshot… perhaps you could create a “scotch taped corner” effect with a tiny lined shadow – lisa norris has this going on with her website & it really looks great… just a thought.
    nice work… keep it up!!!!

  7. That’s a good idea Jen, scotch tape effect…. and thanks everyone for your encouraging words! I guess I really didn’t let you give me too criticism :)I’m ready for the final phases.

Comments are closed.