Post Show Lull

sept 07 069.jpg
The balloons have deflated, show cards flop off the wall, empty lemonade cups litter Laura’s house and Cat and Suzanne work into thr night balancing the books. Thanks to all of you that come out and showed us love at Our Clothesline Show. I still am in AWE of how much we sold. It brings tears to my eyes knowing that God showered our art show with so much love and blessing. I am truly overwhelmed. *sniff*. God is Sooooo GOOD!! I have been praying for a miracle for our finances as we trudge through our debt due to the Marietta house we worked on and finally sold this spring. We are taking the sacrificing steps in order to throw money at our debt. One of those steps was honored by those of you that bought my work personally. But I also am thankful for all my talented friends like Jen, Cat, Amber, Kelly (to name just a few) who needed this financial blessing as well. We all worked so hard and overcame great obstacles to make brand new work. We had so many other women who were interested in this effort because it’s very inspiring and motivating to have so many other women of the same lifestyle and life purpose challenging you to produce. I didn’t come home with that much! Art, that is. I came home with 6 pieces out of 23? I think? Pretty hot!
sept 07 111.jpg
I also had a few pieces at the Hollis Gallery for the Gallery Hop here in Chattanooga. I sold one, possibly two pieces! The killer of the gallery is that you give 50% to the gallery. I do like Hollis, and I look forward to December when I will have a larger show there. After this wonderful event this past weekend, I have a better feel for what I need to produce for my December show.
sept 07 059.jpg
Joel is already planning the next “quick show”, he calls it. Funny to me after he spent practically 3 days with the kids without me around. And that’s no small feat. It was exhilerating and exhausting doing Clothesline, and I didn’t do the dirty work!
sept 07 098.jpg
“Figure with Cup” by Trish Rhudy
Teaching today was another act of God’s grace. My class of 15 was quieter, worked harder, and produced beautiful drawings. They make me nervous, mostly because of the size of the class. I have such a strong desire to teach them all the in’s and out’s about art, sometimes I feel like I’m speaking a foreign language. But all in all I”m glad that the business is over and I can sit and watch Battlestar Galatica on my new $40 DVD player, man it’s skinny!

3 thoughts on “Post Show Lull

  1. boy o boy! i can’t believe it is over. it doesn’t feel over quite yet. i’m still in insomnia zombie zone, unga:s i’d like to keep the buzz going but after a weekend like the one we just had, i don’t think i can control the take off now! kate your hard work was so evident to me, thank you for standing by me and helping me. thank you for filling in the gaps and making such lovely watercolors! again i will say how proud i am of you. proud to be your best friend. i love you always. your spirit is contagious! praise god, right?

  2. boy o boy! i can’t believe it is over. it doesn’t feel over quite yet. i’m still in insomnia zombie zone, unga:s i’d like to keep the buzz going but after a weekend like the one we just had, i don’t think i can control the take off now! kate your hard work was so evident to me, thank you for standing by me and helping me. thank you for filling in the gaps and making such lovely watercolors! again i will say how proud i am of you. proud to be your best friend. i love you always. your spirit is contagious! praise god, right?

Comments are closed.