Work in Progress: Oslo

002.JPG
This one is far from done, but sometimes I fall in love with in-between stages.
I’m so pooped from a busy (but happy) weekend, and I would love to get out my tub of acrylics and finish this one RIGHT NOW, but alas, I need to rest from art for a little while. That’s silly, because I hardly ever do. Today at school I had to go over new concepts and that is never fun. I had to chew out “the tough kid” today. I am so close to sending her home. That’s the nice thing about homeschoolers. There’s no principal, just HOME. But it was a good day, no lulls of unplanning. I didn’t have quite enough colored pencils though. I think we sharpened down half of the pencils just today. I am in full realization that we will not have enough money for this school year. I will have to get creative toward the end of the year. Damn, I hate that. Art is expensive, even for the thrifty. I have faith that God will make it work out.
It was wonderful seeing my highschoolers turn in lovely charcoal drawings. I also realize that I am not getting my point across to some students who do not do their homework, ever. I mean, if they do they always “leave it at home” Ummmm, that’s not cool. I would love to be like, “Well, I was going to give you guys really awesome stuff to draw with today but I left it at home.” No I don’t do that, I overcome obstacles to get 15lb art history books, posters, piles of xeroxes, 500 pages of paper that I ordered from Dick Blick and two kids with all their stuff to school an hour early so I can make my students day good. Please, do your work, your old enough to read the assignment, good grief! You’re old enough to drive. I don’t believe your ADHD kept you from forgetting your homework 3 weeks in a row. I don’t want to be mean. I want the parents to understand that I am a serious instructor. Science is important, so is math, so is ART! Grrrrrrrrrrr.
I’m done, I promise.
So this piece is the second one in my newest Metro series. It’s of Oslo. It’s not finished. I hope to finish it tonight, maybe. Then hopefully I’ll get to make a panel one of these Thursdays and do a huge Paris Metro. Yummy, I can’t wait.
snake chattanooga nature center kids 053.JPG
This is why this weekend was fun. My dad had a concert at Covenant this Saturday night. It’s always good to hear him play. I can’t help but sing along. I try to stop myself but I just can’t. The other great thing was that Kirk got to play with him. I was just struck with the wonder and pride of my family. We’re small but we’re a force. We’re all so creative. How did this happen? And we all work so hard. I realize that I had a very different childhood. And when I hear my dad sing everything from the 70’s on, I feel I am listening to an artist statement. One that I grew up living. And when I experience folks that have different view of the arts I feel stunned, and I have to control my urge to call them wierd. As a working creative adult I feel I’ve carried a legacy of faith in Jesus Christ, a strong work ethic, and a desire to make skillful beautiful things. That’s probably why my students tick me off when they don’t do the work, and why I can’t help but sing at the top of my lungs. I think Josiah and Eden will carry this too. They already show the signs.

2 thoughts on “Work in Progress: Oslo

Comments are closed.