The Metro

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }
.flickr-yourcomment { }
.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }
.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }



WIP: The Metro detail, originally uploaded by katiek2.

I have this fierce sense of dread when I look at this painting. I must admit that failure for me is really hard. Especially when I put myself out there so readily. I am not shy to show my progress because I am also a teacher. I am excited about the possibilities, and I feel a grand responsibility on my shoulders as I produce these works. Not that they are my greatest challenge artistically (right Cat). I’ll go into that another day. I feel these works are appealing beyond my wildest dreams and I thank you for all the marvelous feedback on these either in person or on this site. My friends are loyal, but they are honest. So I wish I could go on about all the great things I have to share on this blog but for these next couple hours of slleping children I need to not blog and work on this one summore, so next time I show you this piece I will be proud and not full of “eeeks”.

I will say that my generous neighbor Rachel gave me, GAVE ME, ooldes of art supplies. Beyond my wildest dreams. When I pull them out of their dusty boxes I’ll take pictures and show you all in great detail just how generous this woman has been to me. SHe gave me this panel, and a few more and then soooo much more. So stay tuned, I have a major praise to share!

4 thoughts on “The Metro

  1. You know, it’s nice to look at your stuff and just be An Appreciator. I don’t know what the heck is wrong. I know nothing about art. I have a pretty good idea about what I like, and I’m not a total loser in terms of art knowledge. But it’s nice not to know much. I don’t know if that makes any sense. Like with music I can’t turn off the little critic, because I know too much. It’s nice to just look at what you’re doing and enjoy it, even if it’s not done.
    Hang in there! You’re an inspiration.

  2. You know, it’s nice to look at your stuff and just be An Appreciator. I don’t know what the heck is wrong. I know nothing about art. I have a pretty good idea about what I like, and I’m not a total loser in terms of art knowledge. But it’s nice not to know much. I don’t know if that makes any sense. Like with music I can’t turn off the little critic, because I know too much. It’s nice to just look at what you’re doing and enjoy it, even if it’s not done.
    Hang in there! You’re an inspiration.

  3. Katie,
    I LOVE this painting–and your blog looks great. Kool to see you again today at Jen’s shower. Please come visit my blog as well–it doesn’t look as chic as yours, but I have had fun with it!
    Mary

Comments are closed.