I am a Gen X’er

my so called life.jpg
Oh my my my. I am such a Gen X’er today. When I am by myself quietly working on art I take a secret jouney back. ABC helps me with this. They have been putting up a new episode of My So Called Life online each week and I look forward to watching each new slice of time. I can’t say my life was exactly like Angela’s, but man, it’s eery sometimes. I had a Jordan Catalano in my life and sometimes, whew, it’s like reading my diary. The clothes, the music, the hairdo’s, the awkwardness. I love this show. I did when it came out and I still do. I guess it’ll go on a wishlist sometime.
How many other X’ers can relate to this. How many of you had a Jordan Catalano? How many of you can guess who mine is? No don’t answer that, seriously. I love John Hughes films but I was a little kid when those teen-agers were around. MSCL is my memory.
I guess I’ve been thinking alot about “memory” and “the familiar” as I work toward a new body of artwork. Fuel for the fire,eh?

9 thoughts on “I am a Gen X’er

  1. jen k

    i used to watch that show religiously while my Dad would mock the “woah is me” syndrome that personifies all great teen cult movies and shows… parents just don’t understand, eh?!!
    i think every girl had a “jordan catalano” too!

  2. Erin

    I loved it too, and my dad also hated it. He said Angela (with one “l”) cried too much. And didn’t every girl have a Brian Krakow, Rayanne Graff, and Rickie Vasquez, also?

  3. I’m old and so the John Hughes films are my memories. We all had our own Jake Ryans though most of us didn’t get to kiss him on our 16th birthdays while sitting on his dining room table!!! I wanted Molly’s wardrobe from Pretty In Pink and all my classmates could quote large sections of The Breakfast Club. Ahhhh. Memories. Time flies…doesn’t it?

  4. I’m old and so the John Hughes films are my memories. We all had our own Jake Ryans though most of us didn’t get to kiss him on our 16th birthdays while sitting on his dining room table!!! I wanted Molly’s wardrobe from Pretty In Pink and all my classmates could quote large sections of The Breakfast Club. Ahhhh. Memories. Time flies…doesn’t it?

  5. how hilarious…i just finished re-watching the entire series of MSCL, courtesy of netflix! still love it. and like you, i related to angela SO much back in the day, and found that this time around i could relate to her parents too. scary!
    of course i had a “jordan catalano”…who didn’t? :o) cheers for sharing these good memories, katie!

  6. how hilarious…i just finished re-watching the entire series of MSCL, courtesy of netflix! still love it. and like you, i related to angela SO much back in the day, and found that this time around i could relate to her parents too. scary!
    of course i had a “jordan catalano”…who didn’t? :o) cheers for sharing these good memories, katie!

  7. I am 32, I don’t know what that makes me but I think Gen Xers are younger than me? I loved MSCL though! I just watched my favorite 80s movie when I was sick last week, its Some Kind of Wonderful. Oh and the Wonder Years was sooo good! I miss all of those teen love stories.

  8. Yeah Jen and Erin, my parents thought it was bogus. It probably is in many ways. You know what’s funny, and I’m sure you two will understand, is that I probably am somebody’s Rayanne Graff (the Christian private school version) from way back then.

  9. Heather, Some Kind of Wonderful is the best. I even have the sound track somewhere in cassette form. Say Anything is a close second. Did you know they can’t put Wonder Years out on DVD because all the music royalties would sink it as a product? The only way they can put it out is without the music, and that’s no good!!

Comments are closed.