WIP:Dove

dove1.JPG

“Arise my darling, my beautiful one, and come with me. See! The winter is past; the rains are over and gone. Flowers appear on the earth; the season of singing has come, the cooing of doves is heard in our land. The fig tree forms it’s early fruit; the blossoming vines spread thier fragrance. Arise, come, my darling; my beautiful one, come with me.” Song of Songs 2:10b-13

Something about doves has touched our family these past weeks. Joel has been reading Song of Songs and this verse has been one that he has been analyzing pretty consistantly. I told him that we had doves hanging out at our place trying to make a nest. They can’t because our house is too new and the slick exterior paint doesn’t lend itself to a good twig mounting space. But on days that are crummy I will park in the one spot behind the old Union Gospel Mission before picking Josiah up from school. There are broken window panes that are boarded in from the inside. There is just enough space for a dove or two to nest in the crevice. It’s been a welcomed sight to see the urban mourning dove staring back at me. When Joel told our small group about what he was reading and how doves have been showing up around us about the same time my friend Missy said, “You should paint those doves!” I didn’t think much of it, I’ve painted alot of birds and I haven’t felt much inspiration for a certain subject. But these birds are pretty in a urban-mutt sort of way. I like to see the signs of spring sprouting around me even if it’s trees that are planted in the median, or growing through the side walk. I need reminders of God’s love and desire for my heart. The fat dove nested in the broken window pane just stared back at me but it had the quality of a dingy mirror. I don’t quite know what I’m seeing, but I know I recognize it. I want to see better. I want the fog to lift completely.
And in that spirit of celebration, the commission of a very large piece has just been confirmed. A pregnant nude for a doola/midwife in the Chicago area. Moola is in the paypal account and research and building begins to start this piece as soon as possible.

2 thoughts on “WIP:Dove

  1. jen k

    yo katers… I love the idea of the urban mutt… kinda carries that “stone that the builder refuse, will be the head cornerstone” kinda vibe… hope that makes sense! Makes sense to me and makes me feel gloriously broken and mended. What great inspiration for a new work, eh???

  2. Erin Humphries

    The doves that hang out around here are called laughing doves (in english) and they are given that name because they coo an arpeggio and it sounds a bit like laughter. It’s quite comforting. There’s a good chance they are like the ones Solomon heard.

Leave a Reply

