Thankfulness

easter26.JPG
This morning I was filled with an amazing sense of thankfulness. Maybe my hormones are balancing out. If that makes sense. But after trying to figure out what I really want, what my new normal is I just have come to a peace lately that I need to strive for that balance. Sometimes the special events come and the timing is just right to continue that balance, but sometimes I just have to sacrifice the experience, the thrill for that balance. It doesn’t mean that I stay at home and make myself a hermit, but sometimes everyone gets sick, one activity has to be sacrificed for another. There have been so many examples lately and when everything is balanced this thankfulness swells inside of me.
easter11.JPG
I am so thankful that I got to be in the worship team for Easter Sunday. Singing with my friends, leading the rest of our church community to worship the risen Lord. It’s always a lot of work to get free enough to be able to practice and spend hours away from the fam, but it’s part of me that gets filled with joy and satisfaction that I’m active in my church.
I’m thankful for a beautiful Easter Sunday so our family could play with good friends (and too many caterpillars) at Renaissance Park.
easter12.JPG
I’m thankful for art sales. Not just some of the recent sales that I’ve got to work hard on, but the ones I’m looking at as I do my taxes. I was feeling discouraged that my ‘career’ was grinding to a hault. Joel always said that I was being dramatic (of course I was) and that I had a lot to be thankful for. And….yeah, he was right. I’m thankful for the peace of not having to help organize another Clothesline Show. I will look forward to that this fall.
I am thankful for my friends. I got to hang out with Cat last night and it’s been too long! It was exciting to hear her tell me about SkinDeep and how perfect it was for her. It sounds like the event she has been wanting to do for a long long time. And her motivation and her artwork does nothing but improve. It’s exciting and I’m so thankful for the fact that although I love doing things together with Cat, that I can look from the outside in and be thankful for this experience for her sake, and for the sake of the artscene here in Chattanooga.
So I’m looking at the calendar, there are so many fun things that are coming around. The Art-o-Mat coming to Chattanooga. Ohhhh, I’ve wanted to do that for years. I got a flickr friend that’s been teasing me with her super cool selections. There’s 4 Bridges which I go back and forth whether I love it or hate it, but I love to celebrate all the folks I know who are working hard for the cause. And there’s the plant sale at Reflection Riding. I really would like to go this year. Even though I know nothing about plants. There’s the possible block party here in JHeights. I have super cool neighbors and I’ve missed hanging out with them, especially now that our park is a mud pit/construction site/6 year old boys wild dream. We’re planning on trying to just close down 18th street and have a good ole block party! Whee! Maybe we could get our new fire fighter neighbor to unhook a fire hydrant! Well, maybe it’s too cold for that.
But yes, I am increasingly thankful for my family. My awesome husband and my kids. Which reminds me, I gotta go pick up the boy from school.
Later.

2 thoughts on “Thankfulness

  1. Lynn and I were just looking at an Art-O-Mat here in Boise! Anything I wanted, like a little robot made out of capacitors, was already sold out. I bet you could easily think of something to sell in it.

  2. jen k

    So excited about the Art o Mat in CHattyvegas… read about those a couple of years ago and wanted to see one come around really bad… we are so cool now!!!! šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

