Injustice

I’ve been gone for awhile, so let me dive back in with the subject of injustice. No, I’m not going to be talking politics, because honestly I think social justice issues should be taken care of by the Church, by Christians, not politicians. Anyway, injustice. There is a great injustice that I have been grieved by lately and it makes each day feel kinda sickening. My days are usually filled with busy business and I rarely have a chance to use my brain. But even when I can stop and spend some time talking with Joel, my brain is still off and my heart begins to ache. Here we are at the beginning of a new school year and we feel like stuff just gets turned upside down. I wish I had the tools, the words, the right to stop this injustice, but I don’t. I have to love, honor and be a peacemaker. Very often this is what I am telling my kids, “Be a peacemaker! Treat your brother/sister kindly, with all the love in your heart!” So I am again hearing God speak through my own habitual phrases. Injustice is what my kids fight over. Whether it’s someone else’s turn, someone else’s fault, doesn’t matter, the grief and argument is about injustice.

I want to be righteous, I want to love justice. I want the foolishness to come out into the daylight and for wisdom to be heard. But today, in this situation it is not my job. I hope that I can feel love for those who have wronged others, but also today I just feel grief.

When Eden is fuming about being bullied by her brother I kinda understand. She weighs a little more than half what Josiah does, and only is as tall as his shoulder if that. When Josiah uses his body to get his way every bit of Eden’s being is offended. She is intellegent enough to witness the injustice. It takes alot to calm her down, to tell her that the raging does not help. I put out many of these fires while at the beach this week. With Joel gone Eden’s tantrums got pretty ridiculous. But I see myself like this. I am raging and it does not help, it just causes me to sin. So my prayer is, “Lord how can I be a peacemaker? Even if I can’t trust my fellow man, I can trust you. How can I be kind and love with all my heart?” That’s even hard to type. It’s good to know that there’s somewhere to go with these questions, and a God who has every right to pass down judgment but gave us the greatest form of mercy.

For the Lord is righteous, he loves justice, upright men will see his face. Ps 11:7

Arise, O Lord, let not men triumph; let the nations be judged in your presence. Strike them with terror, O Lord; let the nations know they are but men. Ps.9:19

Speak and act as those who are going to be judged by the law that gives freedom, because judgment without mercy will be shown to anyone who has not been merciful. Mercy triumphs over judgment! James 2 :12

Leave a Reply

