Songbird

what’s up froggies, originally uploaded by katiek2.

Joel took our two big kids to Blue Hole while Tessa and I were away. They played, explored, hiked. Joel described it as a magical, blessed day. The way he spoke about it, held so much joy, I couldn’t help but feel it too. The joy my husband has as he shares something he loves so much with his children; it’s a powerful, infectious joy. They caught frogs, climbed rocks, and spotted a snake. I am so glad they got to explore with their Papa. I get so nervous and unsure about places like Blue Hole. I wish I wasn’t. I trust Joel to keep them safe and lead them in the joy of the outdoors.
When I called home to check up on the fam, Joel told me bits and pieces of that day. In my casual, and somewhat paranoid way, I asked about ticks and whether they got bathed after. How could I have missed the joy that my husband was feeling? He got a sun-soaked day with his big kids. He got to show them small adventures. He got to help them across paths that were uneven, and hold their hands as they climbed steep rocks. He got to be their guide, protector, and friend. He got to be the good Papa, uninterupted for 5-6 hours.
Last night, Joel shared how he had listened to the song Songbird by Christine McVie, and how it reminded him of Sunday. It’s one of those songs that God just shares with us. It’s a song for everyone, and for Joel it was to his kids. Thirteen years (almost) of marriage, and I am still amazed by how wonderful my husband is. The fact that he reflects on and loves our children so much, man, I am truly blessed.

For you, there’ll be no more crying,
For you, the sun will be shining,
And I feel that when I’m with you,
It’s alright, I know it’s right

To you, I’ll give the world
to you, I’ll never be cold
‘Cause I feel that when I’m with you,
It’s alright, I know it’s right.

And the songbirds are singing,
Like they know the score,
And I love you, I love you, I love you,
Like never before.

And I wish you all the love in the world,
But most of all, I wish it from myself.

And the songbirds keep singing,
Like they know the score,
And I love you, I love you, I love you,
Like never before, like never before.

 

Leave a Reply

