Happy 10th birthday New Eyes!

Today is my tenth blogiversary. I knew it was coming up, and I am in awe. Blogging has been a struggle as lots of other things take the place of. Those of us that love to write have found comfort in our blog. I love to look back and remember. I laugh at all the ordinary things I used to blog about, and the silliness that took up my time.
I also see how I would reflect on my very small children. I used my blog to fight loneliness and isolation. I found friends. There are some friends I have now that I met through the blog first! How crazy is that! Friends like, Jennifer Ross and Kelly Wilkes. Now I meet people through Instagram.
I see photos of pieces of art I forgot I made. I see trials that I went through. I see my reflections on going back to school as a mom of two.
I regret a lot of things too. I wish I had a pretty blog, I’ve always struggled to make it look the way I want it too because I don’t know code. And I’m cheap. I wish I had promoted myself, used my blog to make money, given it more of a uniform vision.
But honestly, the fact that I am a painter, a wife, a mother, a lover of Jesus, an emotional creature, I know that these things could not be separated. For ten years, I have had my life, and my children’s lives, online. It all started with a stomach virus that kept me trapped in my house with a one year old Josiah and I wanted to jump on this bandwagon. So simple, and yet such a great discipline. If you don’t write, you should. And if you blog, whatever it is, good for you. Your blog is for you first, and when people find you and relate to you without meeting you, there is something fun about that.
Thanks for reading New Eyes, y’all. I hope to be a bit better at adding to it as the frustration with Facebook, twitter, and other modes of quick communication fail. Keep on truckin’.

See, I am doing a new thing!
Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?
I am making a way in the wilderness
and streams in the wasteland.
Isaiah 43:19

And he who was seated on the throne said, “Behold, I am making all things new.” Also he said, “Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true.”
Revelation 21:5

Leave a Reply

