Monster Mouth Patches: Pinterest Win

20140316-230828.jpg

I have yet to find good jeans for my daughter, Eden. She plows through the knees of everything. Last spring, we went to Old Navy and bought some cute jeans and tops. The jeans did not make one year. Of course, I’m not totally sure these jeans will fit her much longer. But, until they don’t cover her bum at all, I wanted to patch her teal jeans, because they are cute. I saw this pin on Pinterest and I thought I’d give it a whirl.

I didn’t take a ton of pictures during this pair, but little sis now wants her own monstrous knees, so I’ll show you steps of Tessa’s too. So, first, trim the fringy, hairy bits from the holes of your jeans. Make it nice and clean. Then, next, you make a small rolled hem under so your opening has a frayed edge no more! Then, I gathered a strong material and a pretty material that would fit inside the hole and the surrounding weaker area, like a good patch should.

20140318-215754.jpg

Next, I sewed the two materials together with a simple stitch. So, one side of the patch is strong and one side is pretty. Pin the patch to the inside of your jeans and sew the patch with as small stitches as possible to the jeans in the shape of the square you cut out. Small stitches will hold the patch well, but not be super visible. I am not really good at this, my mom was, and I’m sure if you read that this works and looks better, you’ll try it!

20140318-215742.jpg

Next, cut your felt out. I used poly felt, because I wasn’t sure if wool felt would work at all. After Eden has worn these jeans a few times, and I’ve washed them once, I’ll say be ready for the teeth to get messed up first. I may even replace them later. I tacked the teeth in, just under the rolled hem. Then after the teeth are set, I went ahead and tacked down the entire mouth hole. I also tacked down each tooth, I figured that would help with the wash and wear.

20140316-230817.jpg
20140318-215805.jpg

The eyes that the Pinterest pin showed were just ‘x’s’ and I thought that worked the best too. I grabbed some light pink embroidery thread and made some x marks the spot eyes.

20140316-230838.jpg

The night before I finished these, I stopped before I made the monster mouth commitment. When I told Eden the next morning that I thought about making the patches monster mouths she had a twinkle in her eye and said, “Yeah, yeah, yeah!”

Give this one a try! It’ll take the sting out of your sore index finger when you see monsters grinning on your child’s knees. Eden went around the next day or so pretending to bite us with her knees. Crazy kid. Who does she belong to?

Leave a Reply

